Article Text

PDF
Increased body mass index and reduced efficacy of oral emergency contraception: how many women might be affected?
  1. Sarah C Woodhall, PhD
  1. Principal Scientist, National Infection Service, Public Health England (PHE), London, UK; sarah.woodhall@phe.gov.uk
  1. Catherine M Lowndes, PhD
  1. Consultant Epidemiologist, National Infection Service, PHE, London, UK; cmlowndes@googlemail.com
  1. Rachel Craig, BA
  1. Group Head, NatCen Social Research, London, UK; rachel.craig@natcen.ac.uk
  1. Jennifer S Mindell, PhD
  1. Reader in Public Health, Research Department of Epidemiology and Public Health, UCL, London, UK; j.mindell@ucl.ac.uk
  1. Dame Jane Anderson, PhD, FRCP
  1. Consultant Physician and Advisor, Health and Wellbeing Directorate, PHE, London, UK; jane.anderson@phe.gov.uk
  1. Kate A Guthrie, FRCOG, FFSRH
  1. Clinical Expert, Sexual & Reproductive Health, Health and Wellbeing Directorate, PHE, London, UK; kate.guthrie@phe.gov.uk
  1. Dame Anne M Johnson, MD, FMedSci, FRCP, FFPH, FRCGP
  1. Professor of Infectious Disease Epidemiology, Research Department of Infection and Population Health, UCL, London, UK; anne.johnson@ucl.ac.uk
  1. Anthony Nardone, PhD
  1. Consultant scientist, National Infection Service, Public Health England, London, UK
  2. Health and Wellbeing Directorate, Public Health England, London, UK; anthony.nardone@phe.gov.uk
  1. *Corresponding author

Statistics from Altmetric.com

Oral emergency contraception (EC) is available as levonorgestrel and ulipristal acetate. In England, EC is available through a variety of settings and can be obtained without a prescription. In 2014, evidence from clinical studies prompted a review of available evidence by the European Medicine Agency's Committee for Medicinal Products for Human Use to assess whether increased bodyweight reduces the efficacy of EC. The review concluded that the available data were inconclusive.1 ,2 However, if future research were to substantiate a relationship of reduced EC efficacy in women with higher bodyweight, it would be …

View Full Text

Request permissions

If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.